emeliorations

"Hunger is good discipline." -Ernest Hemingway

My Charleston Bucketlist

Since I mentioned my Bucketlist of things I want to complete during my time in Charleston, I figured I’d go ahead and post it here. I’m sure I’ll be adding to it, and I’ll also be marking off my completions as I go. If anyone from the Charleston area happens to read this and can give me any suggestions for additions, please do so.

  • Meet Bill Murray
  • See sea turtles hatch
  • Eat a cheeseburger at Husk
  • Eat at The Ordinary
  • Eat at FIG
  • Get a sticky bun on Sunday from Wildflour
  • Surf at Folly Beach
  • Find the best place to watch the sun rise
  • Find the best place to watch the sun set
  • Participate in a drunken spelling bee at The Tin Roof
  • Visit the Aiken Rhett House museum
  • Go to the Angel Oak Tree
  • Participate in the New Year’s Polar Bear Plunge
  • Watch the lit boat parade
  • Eat at Butcher & Bee
  • Eat oysters at Bowen’s Island
  • Drink at the bar at Husk
  • Eat at Cosmic Dogs
  • Eat at Xiao Bao Biscuit
  • Visit the Botany Bay Plantation
  • Visit the Charles Towne Landing
  • Ride a stand-up paddle board along Shem Creek
  • Sail the Charleston Harbor
  • Bike to Sullivan’s Island
  • Go see the Sheepman Grafitti
  • Eat at Poe’s Tavern
  • Eat at the Tattooed Moose
  • Eat at Fiery Ron’s BBQ
  • Drink at the Gin Joint
  • Visit Beaufort
  • Eat at The Macintosh
  • Learn how to make a sweetgrass rose
  • Eat at Glazed Doughnuts  (I work there.)
  • Eat at the Glass Onion
  • Visit the Westbrook Brewery

Coming to make this post got me wondering about the origin of the term “Bucket List.” A quick search with my handy dandy pal Google led me to this Slate article, in which someone named June Thomas appears to have done a pretty exhaustive search into the term’s history. It’s actually a fairly new term, and appears to be a descendant of the phrase “to kick the bucket.” It’s a little dissatisfying to me that the history of the term isn’t more interesting, but the fact that it’s only come into popular use within the past decade is pretty cool, I guess.

4 comments on “My Charleston Bucketlist

  1. Amy Lauren
    September 16, 2013

    I live in Charleston and I haven’t done all of these things… actually I haven’t done very many of them. But yes, Glazed *is* all it is cracked up to be. And my favorite place to watch the sun rise is the Isle of Palms beach.

    I’ve really wanted to try Poe’s on Sullivan’s and eat at Tatooed moose for brunch and haven’t gotten to either yet.

    • Emeliorations
      September 18, 2013

      Thanks, Amy. I watched the sun rise on Sullivan’s Island the other morning, and it was pretty but not spectacular. And I just started working at Glazed! I’m super excited, and definitely going to have to fight the urge to eat multiple donuts every shift!

      • Amy Lauren
        September 18, 2013

        You work there?

        Congratulations, we’re going to be friends. At least blogger friends ;).

  2. Emeliorations
    September 18, 2013

    Being blogger friends sounds great! I’m pretty sure I don’t have too many followers yet, so it’ll be nice not to feel like I’m talking to myself 🙂 And I just started at Glazed yesterday. I’ve decided that I want to open up my own food establishment of some sort within the next 10 years, so I’m treating it as a fun learning opportunity that happens to pay. And I could tell that Moe’s is a place I’d like to get my drink on 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2013 by in Charleston.
